Queer women can star in fairy tales, too

Shira_DisneyPrincess_finished_v01

Painfully aware that big Western animation houses weren’t going to give me the queer lady fairy tales I wanted… I wrote my own, and it got accepted and published. And a sequel, due out July 2014. And I’m 2/3 of the way into a first draft of number three.

This is Queen Shulamit. She’s the lesbian Jewish princess queen I knew I’d never see animated; the closest I’ve come to representation for my ethnic group is a working-class mouse (Tanya from An American Tail), and I guess I can shoehorn myself into Michiru from Sailor Moon if we’re talking about femme queer ladies, but… it meant a lot to me to be able to write about my own experiences and feelings, except coloring them with dragons and warrior women and magic potions and flying around having adventures.

Shulamit took the throne at twenty, when her father the king died in an accident. She was comfortable with being gay but it took her a while to find true love, given that she didn’t know any other queer women at first. Love enters her life in book one; in book two, she and her partner and the rest of her family-of-choice help the bisexual prince from next door get his labor activist boyfriend out of trouble; by book three, she and her partner have a six-month-old baby, who she carries around in a wrap while solving mysteries in her capital city.

I am having way too much fun with this.

(Artwork above by the talented-beyond-words Rebecca, who is available for commission.)

 

About Shira

Queer Jewish feminist author
Image | This entry was posted in Mangoverse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

