Awkward teenage bisexual confessions, and representation for young girls who crush on girls

I realized while facepalming about this earlier today that a major motivation for writing about Shulamit’s awkwardness, her crushes on most of the women she encounters in the first book, and her lack of finesse in finding a girlfriend –- a major motivation for me was to show someone feminine fretting that way over other girls. To show that someone like me could fret like that and HAD fretted like that.

Click the link to read my guest post on my publisher’s blog about the silly things I did when I was a teenager and how I fell through the cracks of representation because boys do silly things over girls and girls do silly things over boys, or so the trope goes.

About Shira

Queer Jewish feminist author
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awkward teenage bisexual confessions, and representation for young girls who crush on girls

  1. Pingback: SUNDAY CONFESSIONS: I Went Streakin’ | Cheri Speak

Leave a Reply

