Author interview on Rainbow Book Reviews

Rainbow Book Reviews asked me some questions about my writing:

All my life, I’ve been fascinated by the relationships between fictional characters. When the existing fiction that I liked – historical, vintage mysteries, fairy tales – didn’t give me anyone who was queer or Jewish like me to work with, I made them up myself. I also grew up in a single parent household and a blended family at the same time – raised by my mother but also by my grandparents and aunt, and visiting my father, stepmother, and half-siblings far away – so the idea of family as a large and meandering web rather than two parents and X number of kids in a neat unit seeped into my writing as well.

The first thing I can remember writing was fanfiction in which I got to meet my favorite characters. I was six years old. As a fifth grader I remember writing long rambling narratives in my notebook about a girl who found a runaway girl living in the bushes outside her house.

Click the link at the top to read the rest of the interview.

About Shira

Queer Jewish feminist author
This entry was posted in Mangoverse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

