Even Kiddush is a magic show when there’s a wizard in the family

For non-Jews: this is Shabbat (Sabbath) dinner, and Queen Shulamit is blessing the wine. Isaac is a wizard with a flair for showing off, especially for Rivka, hence the telekinesis.

Even Kiddush is a magic show when there’s a wizard in the family

Characters from The Second Mango drawn by kayaczek. Sequel Climbing the Date Palm due out July 2.

About Shira

Queer Jewish feminist author
Image | This entry was posted in Mangoverse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Even Kiddush is a magic show when there’s a wizard in the family

  1. jaelscribble says:

    Ahh, where do you find all these amazing artists?! I will seriously have to talk to you when I start looking for commissions/get a PayPal to do that.

    Never saw a Shabbat go quite like that before. How does Shula feel about this?! (Or does Issac just do that when she has her eyes closed).

    • Shira says:

      I find most of my artists on Tumblr. Most of them are open for commissions — click on the link to kayaczek’s Tumblr and there should be a commission link on her sidebar someplace. She’s very good to work with 🙂

      As for Shulamit — well, first of all, the picture kinda makes it look like he’s playing around with the cup rather than praying, which wasn’t so much what I had in mind — he’s just using telekinesis to hold it up rather than his hand (especially since one of his hands has problems.) But second of all, I think she’s of the “if I acknowledge it, it’ll egg him on/encourage him” school… so she’s probably not gonna say anything 😛

      You should look through all the art on this blog (click the Click here for more information blah blah blah link in the top banner) because then you can get ideas of what kinds of pictures you want to commission and from whom. With a few exceptions, most of those people are available, and I can tell you how to get in touch with them if I didn’t link them directly (like Becca, who doesn’t get linked so much since she’s on, like, half the art.)

  2. J.L. Douglas says:

    Awesome! Thanks! I plan to start commissioning while I’m on vacation! My parents work, like, all the time so I’ll mostly just be hanging out in the wilderness anyway. I might need pretty pictures of my characters will keep me amused. (:

    (I REALLY like this artist particularly though! So maybe I’l start there).

  3. J.L. Douglas says:

    And yeah, Issac kind of looks like he’s not really into this. But I just couldn’t see that. He’s a nice guy!

    • Shira says:

      He’s a nice guy but he’s also a smartass. 😛 The thing is, though, religion in Perach is sort of casual, even though I left in all the holidays. I wanted it to be more like my upbringing than some sort of textbook-correct Judaism.

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        Yeah, I got that impression! I’m not Jewish, but I live/work in a fairly Jewish-prominent community. Speaking of, I actually recommended your book to a friend of mine who is Jewish and she was THRILLED with Shula.

    • Shira says:

      Oh, cool, thanks! I really appreciate that. Word of mouth is really the only way this little baby dragon of mine is gonna get off the ground 😉

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        Haha, well I’m totally in fangirls with your book, and I am pretty shouty about stuff I like. (; I’d love to see that dragon take flight!

    • Shira says:

      I am grateful for that!

Leave a Reply

