My guest post about why the romantic lead in Climbing the Date Palm is fat

Click here to read my full post, about why I chose to make Farzin from my new novel Climbing the Date Palm a fat gay nerd.

Farzin is, in many ways, what I find attractive in a man. He’s an intellectual and passionately devoted to justice just like my spouse (who is not a man, but let’s not split hairs); he’s got a really bizarre sense of humor, and yes, he’s chunky. When I do like guys they have a tendency to carry some weight, something to cuddle, and that tends to make me feel left out in the world of fictional romance.

Another reason I chose to write a fat romantic interest is because I liked showing Prince Kaveh’s journey from “I really like him even though he’s fat” to “why should his fatness be an ‘even though’?” Through the course of their romance Kaveh comes to realize that a lot of what he’s been taught to accept about visual beauty is completely subjective. It goes hand in hand with the other ways Farzin opens his eyes, as he learns to appreciate the work of those who perform physical labor and other service jobs.

Ultimately, the most important reason Farzin is fat is because fat people deserve love. There are millions of people out there who are not a size small and it can’t possibly be fun to read book after book and watch movie after movie in which only skinny people ever find true love, and fat people are either villains, sassy sidekicks, or the butt of jokes.

Climbing the Date Palm is available electronically from Amazon or Prizm Books and is due out in paperback by late July (preorders available here, but it’ll also be on Amazon.)

 

About Shira

Queer Jewish feminist author
This entry was posted in Mangoverse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My guest post about why the romantic lead in Climbing the Date Palm is fat

  1. J.L. Douglas says:

    I think this is pretty cool. I mean, I’d say it’s definitely getting better over time in YA (there are many more protagonists who are at least explicitly “not thin,” if not actually defined by the author as fat, now) but yeah. I think the main thing is “why NOT, really?”

  2. Yasher koach and thank you!

Leave a Reply

