Queer feminist fiction — with dragons!

Today, paperback copies of Climbing the Date Palm hit the shelves at Wild Iris Books, our local feminist/LGBTQ+ bookstore! The bookstore’s owner and I are holding it up with the first book in the series,The Second Mango.

Screen Shot 2014-07-22 at 4.54.00 PM

About Shira

Queer Jewish feminist author
This entry was posted in Mangoverse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Queer feminist fiction — with dragons!

  1. J.L. Douglas says:

    Looking forward to ordering mine when I get back to a more convenient address!

    • Shira says:

      I’m happy to draw characters (badly) inside the cover if you want!

    • Shira says:

      My drawing skills are TARRRble, but my mom thinks they’re cute. Which character(s) did you have in mind?

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        *solemn* For real. Moms know what’s up.

        Although any characters would make me gleeful, Farzin being full of Math and Shula being a book nerd at each other would be wonderful because those two…<3

    • Shira says:

      Ooh, imagine those two on one of those academic quiz teams together in high school.

      I’m seeing a rather silly AU in progress. Him with his one-sided Kaveh crush and her hung up on the Princess of Imbrio… have you seen that coming-out page? https://shiraglassman.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/in-which-princess-shulamit-attempts-to-come-out-to-her-father-the-king/ There is more to this, if I can ever get book four off the ground in my head.

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        I would read that. I’d like to think that Farzin went through a period where he was insufferably smug about his Math skills, and I imagine Shula wouldn’t take it because there are no captains on her team! But also, I’d like to see what you described. I imagine they would eventually become gay genius buddies.

        Book four, huh? So do you plan on continuing into the future, or will it be a prequel?

    • Shira says:

      Smugness really isn’t Farzin’s style the way it is with Isaac. He’s too nicey-nice. He’d be the one offering to help tutor and explain things to other people. (Remember, he’s the one who was lecturing Kaveh on how people from disadvantaged backgrounds deserved more respect.) I love the phrase “gay genius buddies”, though. LOL! I wonder if their classmates would have decided they were dating and they’d both be like NO STOP THAT IT’S NOT FUNNY.

      So, if the idea I have now works, book four is set maybe just a month or so after book three, but with a flashback scene into when Shulamit was a teenager. But, you know, I don’t count these kinds of chickens until I actually have more of an idea than I already have now. 😦 Believe me, you’ll know the minute I actually know what I’m doing. I am just not there yet, sadly.

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        Hmm, well, I guess that’s true. I guess I just like thinking that Farzin sometimes knows how awesome he is!

        Yes! They can be gay genius buddies! I imagine this is an entirely untapped market.

        That’s sensible not to call a book done until it’s done. That said, yay for the series not being definitively over! 🙂

    • Shira says:

      Well, I can’t stop because I can’t really draw very well and there’s no other way to get to play with Isaac 😛 SO UM.

      >> I guess I just like thinking that Farzin sometimes knows how awesome he is!

      Oh, he’s got healthy self esteem. He’s just based, partially, on a real person who would be appalled at the idea of feeling better than other people. (My spouse is unusual that way. Nobody in the series is EXACTLY based on a real person, especially given that his sense of humor is more mine than anyone else’s, but the Farzin = Spouseling parallel is deliberate and obvious.)

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        Interesting! So your spouse solves Math to get calm while you go around making puns all the time? ❤

        Meanwhile, I totally am stuck with both of these traits at the same time. It was the first time I ever read a character who used Math like that, and that seemed Very Important at the time.

    • Shira says:

      I do make puns all the time, and Spouseling was a math minor, physics major. But it’s mostly the labor activist angle, and the passionate and totally egoless focus on other people’s rights and respect for those in underpaid, low-status service professions.

      Speaking of puns, there is a rather sly, unspoken one in A Certain Scene in Mango. I will email you because it relates to The Spoiler.

Leave a Reply

