Cover reveal for Book Three! Coming January 21, 2015 from Prizm Books

Magic, musicians, and mystery — Perach’s babywearing lesbian queen is on the case! Queue it on Goodreads.

aharvestofripefigs

Esther of the Singing Hands is Perach’s Sweetheart, a young and beautiful musician with a Girl Next Door image. When her violin is stolen after a concert in the capital city, she doesn’t expect the queen herself to show up, intent upon solving the mystery.

But Queen Shulamit—lesbian, intellectual, and mother of the eight month old crown princess—loves to play detective. With the help of her legendary bodyguard Rivka and her dragon, and with the support of her partner Aviva the Chef, Shulamit turns her mind toward the solution—which she quickly begins to suspect involves the use of illegal magic that could threaten the safety of her citizens.

About Shira

Queer Jewish feminist author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Cover reveal for Book Three! Coming January 21, 2015 from Prizm Books

  1. J.L. Douglas says:

    YESSSSS

    Esther of the Singing Hands is Perach’s Sweetheart, a young and beautiful musician with a Girl Next Door image. When her violin is stolen after a concert in the capital city, she doesn’t expect the queen herself to show up, intent upon solving the mystery.

    This sounds so great! Ahhhhh, can’t wait!

    • Shira says:

      It was even harder than I anticipated to write a whodunit, but I definitely had fun writing about musicians for once. Talk about writing what you know 😉

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        It sounds awesome! All of those vintage mysteries you said you read paid off! RESEARCH

        Yeah, I’m looking forward to the musicians and having that cover on my shelf and just AHHHHHHH

    • Shira says:

      People who haven’t read book one, don’t read this comment
      .
      .
      .
      .
      .
      .
      Did you notice that the dragon looks like his own scar? 😛

    • Shira says:

      Not really a plot hint, but the scar does get talked about more than usual. It always strikes me as a little interesting how many people can come away from the books not realizing that he has a disability. I think it’s because it’s a disability that isn’t really that common in modern times.

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        I think it’s sort of that, but I think a lot of it is how you write your characters. You have this cast that’s incredibly diverse if you step back and look at them but they’re presented in such a way that the labels society has given them are pretty much all secondary to who they are.

        Isaac’s loved ones don’t see him as “man with disability” any more than they see Farzin as “fay gay man.” These are realities that are always in the background, but the fact that you write a universe where everyone is a person first makes all of these labels sort of fade into the background.

        And yes, I did pick up Mango because “anxious lesbian!” But I shout about your books because you wrote an anxious lesbian main character who is not defined entirely by being a lesbian or by her anxiety. This isn’t something I have really encountered in YA, and it is amazing.

        I guess the short version is the Mangoverse is a very cool place to visit 😛

    • Shira says:

      “they’re presented in such a way that the labels society has given them are pretty much all secondary to who they are.” True, but if he was in a wheelchair I feel like people wouldn’t forget that, right? I feel like because it doesn’t get mentioned that often, people forget. That’s not why it comes up more often in book three, though — it was just a fluke of the plot and various scenes I needed.

      I remain pleased that you like visiting Perach and its neighboring regions and hanging out with my head-kittens!

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        I feel like because it doesn’t get mentioned that often, people forget.

        Maybe! I can’t really comment on it, because I’ve re-read them often enough that I don’t really “forget.” But also I suppose I’m guilty of defining the world around my favorites. So to me Isaac is “Shula’s found father.” If Shulamit or Farzin had the disability, it might be different?

        I remain pleased that you like visiting Perach and its neighboring regions and hanging out with my head-kittens!

        Yeaaah. I came for the “I exist?” and stayed for the awesome. 🙂

    • Shira says:

      That’s a really good point. Not everyone is as obsessed with Isaac as I am. (He’s not just a hottie to me; he’s also based on my “childhood dragon”… or something.)

      “I came for the “I exist?” and stayed for the awesome.”
      –I love this comment. Love it so much. I’d love to quote it on Tumblr. You have a Tumblr account now, right?

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        Not everyone is as obsessed with Isaac as I am.
        That’s true too. I love that Isaac exists, but I tend to pay more attention to my favorites/pretend the story is entirely about them. (Farzin prison fic where he accidentally invents Mangoverse stand-up comedy? I think so!)

        I do have a Tumblr now…which means you already know my Tumblr name!

    • Shira says:

      I don’t — I just saw you mention it on Twitter. 😛 The reason I’m asking is that I want to quote you and it would be good cross-promotion for you if I was able to @link to you instead of just saying –“JL Douglas”

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        Heh, right. I DID mention it there! I’d been holding off getting a Tumblr because I thought the visual layout on it would trigger my anxiety but then I just jumped in and it didn’t and that was SO EXCITING!

        Anyway yeah, my Tumblr is jael-the-goat.

    • Shira says:

      Oh, that’s who that was! I recognize that name.

      Check out writingwithcolor, if you haven’t already.

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        Yeaaah, I haven’t had it that long. Mostly I’ve been just following summer camp, Anne, and dapper style Tumblrs so far. But those things are like the core of my being so yeah.

        I’m following writingwithcolor now. The fact that they even posted about asexuality at all was an auto-follow.

    • Shira says:

      Have you noticed that Harmony Ink Press seems to be screaming for a YA novel with an ace main character? They say they don’t have any yet so the first person who actually writes one and submits it probably has a pretty good shot… (They’re also on Tumblr.)

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        I have noticed this! i’d really want to read that book, but I don’t know if I could write it.

        (Although I do identify as asexual, it’s only very very recently that I realized I was totally allowed to say that even though I also exclusively like girls. Researching my biromantic asexual character in Lunaside really helped with that, but I’m not sure if I could write an asexual MC yet).

    • Shira says:

      There are definitely other asexual lesbians on Tumblr, if that helps you feel less alone. I can completely understand not realizing that having a romantic orientation isn’t mutually exclusive with asexuality. The first kind of asexuality I learned about was aro-ace, and it was a while before I understood other types.

      • J.L. Douglas says:

        Yeah! Tumblr is kind of quickly becoming my happy place for such reasons. 😀

        I first read about asexuality in a pamphlet at my university’s health centre, but it focused entirely on “it’s okay if you never want to have sex or a partner; that’s normal.” So I was like “welp that’s not me.”

        That made me feel like I had to pick one identity or the other, but it’s kind of cool that I don’t and maybe I should write an asexual romance. 🙂

    • Shira says:

      There would be a lot of people happy about that — but I think you’d be the first one of them! 😉

  2. Pingback: Shira Glassman’s Climbing the Date Palm | Words of Realms

Leave a Reply

