“Warming Trend”: Lesbian clears herself from academic scandal against backdrop of Alaska’s glaciers

“That thick atmosphere that keeps you warm is hiding heaven from you.”

Warming Trend by lesbian literary giant Karin Kallmaker is the story of Ani, raised to love ice and science and the science of ice, but driven out of academia (and her girlfriend’s arms) by a tangled scandal involving greed, rival scientists, and prejudice. She’s hanging out in Key West basically sulking and working at a bar where everything is made out of ice (I live in Florida, too, so I think this is a fantastic idea! Can we go?)

In comes Lisa, who speaks her mind and is the type of person who clownishly acts like Xena later in the book on her first glacier hiking expedition. Bolstered up by Lisa’s determined straight-talking (no, not that kind of straight), Ani goes back to Alaska to make things right — finding when she gets there that she might be able to go beyond that, to making things good.

I loved the evocative descriptions of both Florida and Alaska; I really appreciate geographic “place-feel” in a book. I also really appreciated the fact that, though a key plot element rests on two lovers failing to communicate, with disastrous results, the audience isn’t tortured with too much talking-over-each-other and we move on to the nitty-gritty detective-suspense parts of the book — i.e. what really happened and who’s to blame (spoiler: not Ani.)

Clever lines:

“I’d have licked my plate if I’d known that would reassure you.”

Immature puns sprang to mind and Eve struggled to control the sudden arrival of an inner teenager with raging hormones. She would not say, “Skip the plate.”

and

“She loved you so much she trusted you with her dog. Near as I can tell in Alaskan Dykespeak, that means ‘marry me and have my babies.'”

and

“That’s about as romantic as a set of spatulas,” Ani said with a lopsided smile.

[…] “Unless it’s just the right spatula to make brownies for a picnic.”

Pick up this book for a cheap way to visit Alaska if you’re a sun-baked Floridian like me, or if you want a book full of schemes and intrigue set in the world of scientific research, or if you just like reading things where lesbians are not only in love with each other but make platonic friends with each other, too.

Also, one of the main characters is a chef, so there are graphic description of food. If you’ve read my books, you know that’s always going to win points with me.

About Shira

Queer Jewish feminist author
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Warming Trend”: Lesbian clears herself from academic scandal against backdrop of Alaska’s glaciers

  1. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    This is such an amazing post! I really love your blog so much and in turn cannot stop reading all of your posts. Please don’t ever stop writing them because I love your posts too much!

  2. Thank you so much for the through review! You hit the high points without giving away spoilers – that’s hard to do. Much, much appreciated.

    • Shira says:

      So did you have to go to Alaska and Key West to research this one? 😉

      • I didn’t have to. But I did. *g*

        I had been to both places long before I decided to put them into a book. The Ice Bar – that was a stumble upon article about one in Finland. Which totally makes sense. And then another about a bar in NYC that uses ice chutes to chill drinks. And I thought…. You know, how we do. 🙂

    • Shira says:

      I just really dig all that really strong place-feel stuff.

Leave a Reply

